Awards Committee

Committee Chair  
  • Carol Amann, MSN, BSN, RN-BC, FNGNA
Committee Members
  • Elaine Delvo-Favre, RN, MSN
  • Sharon Henderson, MSN, RN-BC
  • Mary Jarmulowicz, RN, MSN, BC-GNP
  • Denise Lyons, MSN, GCNS, BC
  • Lorraine Novosel, Ph.D., CRNP, ANP-BC, GNP-BC
Board Liaison  
  • Monica Diehl, RN-BC, CHPN

The Awards Committee is always looking for volunteers to help us in two ways:
  1. to identify those eligible for awards; and
  2. to also take part in reviewing and ranking those who have nominated.
If you are interested in serving, please contact NGNA and they will forward you to the appropriate chair person. We would love to work with you. The time commitment is small, but the rewards are immeasurable! Nominations for the various awards are generally accepted until the last business day in May. Upon review the award recipients are chosen. Award winners are announced at the annual convention.

Award categories include:

Excellence In Gerontology Nursing (APRN, RN, LPN, CNA) Award
The Excellence in Gerontological Nursing Award has been established to recognize excellence in individuals who provide care to older adults. This award is intended to honor an advanced practice registered nurse, registered nurse, licensed practical/vocational nurse, and/or a certified nursing assistant/unlicensed direct care provider who has consistently provided outstanding care to older adults and has been an inspirational role model and mentor to other healthcare workers. One award for each category may be presented.

Chapter Award
The Chapter Award honors the chapter that best promotes the goals of NGNA through their member relationships, community activities and promotion of community health issues. All chapters are encouraged to submit an application for this award.

Distinguished Nurse Educator Award
The Distinguished Nurse Educator Award was established in 2013 by the National Gerontological Nursing Association (NGNA) Board of Directors. This award is presented to a member of NGNA in recognition of (1) outstanding leadership in nursing education in an educational or clinical setting and (2) participation and contributions toward achieving the goals of NGNA. The NGNA Award Committee reviews all nominations for the Distinguished Nurse Educator Award and selects a nominee for endorsement by the NGNA Board of Directors.

Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award, established in 1999 by the NGNA Board of Directors, is presented to a member of NGNA in recognition of outstanding leadership, participation, and contributions toward achieving the goals of NGNA.

Lifetime Achievement Award
The Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor given by the National Gerontological Nursing Association. The award is intended to recognize individuals who positively influence the public image of older adults and enhance healthcare delivery in a variety of settings where older persons receive care and whose contributions and accomplishments have had significant national or international impact on the care of older adults.

Cindy Shermansky Travel Scholarship
The Cindy Shemansky Travel Scholarship was established to provide assistance to NGNA members who wish to attend the annual convention but need financial assistance with travel expenses. Each Scholarship is a $1,000 cash prize that can be used for registration fees, lodging, and other travel costs.

Mary Opal Wolanin Nursing Scholarship
Graduate— Eligible applications include nursing students enrolled in a MSN, DNP or PHD nursing program in the U.S. with a gerontology focused dissertation or project. A $500.00 scholarship will be awarded at the annual convention.

Undergraduate—Eligible applicants include full-time or part-time nursing students in a nationally accredited U.S. school of nursing. Applicants must intend to work with a gerontology population after graduation. A $500.00 scholarship will be awarded at the annual convention.