NGNA Award Winners

The following NGNA members were honored at the 2012 Awards Luncheon, which took place during the annual convention at the Sheraton Inner Harbor Hotel in Baltimore, Maryland. Congratulations to these deserving award winners!

Distinguished Service Award
Martha B. Sparks, PhD, GCNS-BC, FNGNA

Excellence in Gerontological Nursing Award – APRN
Claudia Chaperon, PhD, APRN, GNP-BC

Excellence in Gerontological Nursing Award – RN
Erin Ament, RN

Judith Braun Excellence in Research Award

2012 Finalists:
Todd Monroe, PhD, RN-BC
Assessing Advanced Cancer Pain in People with Dementia at End-of-Life

Nancy B. Lerner, DNP, RN
RN Staffing and Quality in Nursing Homes

Award Presented To: Todd Monroe, PhD, RN-BC

Innovations in Practice Award

2012 Finalists:
Linda Bub, MSN, RN, GCNS-BC
The 3D Room: Educating nurses on delirium in their practice environment

Susan J. Gordon, ACNP-BC, GNP-BC, FGNLA
Bedside Coaching to Improve Nurses’ Recognition of Delirium

Sheila B. Delp, RN,MSN,GCNS-BC
Telephone Calls After Discharge to Assess and Clarify Discharge Instructions

Transitioning Elders Across the Continuum of Healthcare: Let the STARS (Safety, Teamwork, Advocacy, Rounding, & SPICES) Guide Older Adults to a Safe Harbor

Award Presented To: Linda Bub, MSN, RN, GCNS-BC

Recognition of Scholarship Recipients

Mary Opal Wolanin Scholarship
Graduate Student Recipient: Nicole Ortiz

Undergraduate Student Recipient: Rachel Mjones

Cindy Shemansky Travel Scholarship
Kelley Isringhaus, RN

Best Poster
EBP Category: Suzanne Fehr, RN-BC, MS, NE-BC and Joselin Bodaghi
Zero Pressure Ulcers

Research Category: Carol Enderlin, PhD, RN and Janet Rooker, MNSc., RNP
Excessive Daytime Sleepiness, Sleep Quality and Mood in Community-Dwelling Older Women with and without Breast Cancer

Student Poster: Ted Bailly, BSN, RN and Karen Yancopoulos
Student Perceptions of Older Adults: Outcomes of an Aging Sensitivity Program, A Qualitative Inquiry

Student Leadership Award
Graduate Student Recipient: Shalome Tomelli
Undergraduate Student Recipients: Claire Knaplund (recognized at convention); Lauren Schulze

Conferment of 2012 NGNA Fellows:
Sheila Delp, MSN, RN, GCNS-BC, ACNS-BC
Sarah Jean Fisher, BA, RN-BC, MSN
Melodee Harris, PhD, APN, GNP-BC
Linda J. Hassler, RN, MS, GCNS-BC
Jeanne St. Pierre, MN, RN, GCNS-BC
Sharon Wexler, PhD, RN, BC